Closed my Altius Minerals position

  1. The share price has gone up a lot.
  2. Altius is no longer buying back shares due to #1.
  3. A lot of Altius’ intrinsic value is tied to Alderon and whether or not its flagship Kami mine is financed.  I absolutely do not trust Alderon’s management or the engineering firm (BBA) which prepared their feasibility study.  I previously estimated that Kami’s all-in costs would be $120/ton.  I believe iron ore spot prices are currently slightly less than that, so by my estimate a Kami mine doesn’t make sense right now.  I recognize that my estimate is not very good and that it is virtually impossible for me to perform due diligence on the Kami project.  I lack the engineering expertise and do not have access to technical data.
  4. No news is bad news.  If Kami were economic (and my estimate overly pessimistic), some sort of financing deal might be in place by now (e.g. a takeover by a larger mining company).
One thought on “Closed my Altius Minerals position

  1. Pingback: Altius Minerals announces secondary offering / Altius post mortem | Glenn Chan's Random Notes on Investing

Leave a Reply

